As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

To say that technology has caused a deterioration in human cognition is to negate the ways in which technology has expanded the human potential for creativity and learning. At the same time, it is important to pay attention to the concerns related to excessive reliance on technology.

The main focus should be placed on how a person chooses to interact with technology. Is it used to simplify a task, or is it used to explore human potential? If the former, then we have the issue of the brain becoming too comfortable with relying on technology for assistance. One such example is the concern over the disappearance of Braille. Due to the abundance of audio books and audio lectures, there has been a decline in Braille proficiency. This can be problematic, because it limits the abilities for those who are visually impaired. Reliance on audio limits the ability for the blind to read on their own, and while audio media allows access to a wealth of knowledge, what it doesn’t do is allow the blind to fully delve into language, an experience that the brain craves.

Looking at the expansion of audio media can also be seen as a good thing, especially because of the amount of information that becomes available at the push of a button. Knowledge that was once only accessible through the passage of university doors is now open to anyone who simply seeks information. Audio media is not limited to audio books. Professors from established universities are able to share their lectures through the iTunes Store and Audible, and with just a couple of dollars, the layman can learn about black holes and the rise of Alexander the Great.

From this perspective, it can be seen that technology can benefit the consumer by providing them with easy access to knowledge, but the benefits don’t end there. The producer can also benefit. Going back to the professors who upload their lectures online, it can be seen that those who want to share thoughts and information are also able to allow their minds to be stimulated by the presence of technology. Continuing this idea, audio media goes beyond the books and the lectures that were previously discussed. Audio media includes podcasts, where individuals can unleash their creativity while sharing their knowledge with others. Experts in a field can hone their skills, and on top of being able to talk about what they specialize in, they develop a new skill along the way - production. They learn to write scripts that are in the vernacular, so that their podcasts can be enjoyed broadly. They learn to work with audio quality and editing, expanding their horizons of their creativity along the way.

Technology has the potential to better the human mind, but it depends on how the human utilizes it. When technology is used only as a mental shortcut, yes, it can weaken cognition. But when it is used to access knowledge and create, the mind is able to go on journeys that it has never been on before.