As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Technology is taking over the world one day at a time and is constantly trying to better itself. But this raises the question of whether the ever-present technology is making people rely less on their minds. I strongly believe it's not.

The world we live in is moving so fast if one is not equally fast in every aspect, he/she is bound to be left in the dust. And this is where technology helps us. We can get more work done using technology than we can without it. Also, technology helps us by making sure we do not have to remember unnecessary information that we would otherwise we'd need to know. This frees up space in our minds to fill them with important information instead.

Not only is our work done quicker it is also better. This is because technology has made more information accessible to us, which in turn, broadens our knowledge. People are using technology to study and get degrees also. And furthering one's education helps one think better and analyse better. Not only education for degrees, but also helping one learn more at a faster rate, in their area of interest is another way in which technology is helping people.

Also, we need to remember that technology isn't bettering itself. It is humans who built it in the first place, and it is humans who are improving it to serve them better. In order to do so, people are pushing themselves and, by extension, their minds to do more, learn more and improve. A person's ability to think isn't reducing due to technology because we are constantly breaking barriers in our minds to improve technology. Mobiles, laptops and Artificial Intelligence are just a few examples that we are developing restlessly.

Sure, we can argue that we have become dependent on technology for even the most basic things, and while it may hinder us in a few subjects, like how using calculators may diminish our ability to do mental mathematics, its pros outweigh its cons. And while our mental math might be degrading, calculators help people who are bad at the subject do well in it and also save a lot of time while solving complicated questions. They also help in the business world where huge numbers are to be calculated and by hand, they would take forever to finish.

Though technology, like any other thing, is not without its flaws, it is definitely helping in creating a world that is advancing every second. It is this constantly improving technology that will one day help in creating a world that one cannot even fathom at this point in time. And this wouldn't be possible if the ability of humans to think for themselves is deteriorating. So, if anything, technology is helping people's ability to think reach new horizons as it's helping them break out of pre-defined boxes and explore things that once seemed impossible.