As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate. Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree.

Some may argue that technology will negatively affect the human capability to think. As these technologies will eventually replace the human brain. Take for instance the calculator. With the invention of the calculator humans are now able to plug in large amount of digits to solve mathematical equations in a short amount of time without doing the actual math in their brain. However, such example is only a trivial factor when considering the how technology actually helps humans to think rather than hinder their intellect.

Using a calculator only helps with crunching numbers but not applied math. But person must know the equation even before applying it to the calculator. Take for example calculating the projection of a bullet through air. This involves a complex relationship between initial speed, gravity, mass of bullet, angle, and weather factor. Thus in able to solve this problem, one must think how all this relation play with each other. Even if there was a program to calculate all these things, a human brain must still understands this relationships to be able to design the program.

Thus it brings us to the second point. Technology allows time human beings to solve complex problem rather than spend time on simple mathematical equations. Let us take the example of the bullet from above and turn the bullet into a spaceship. With the help of technology and computer humans can allow the computer to run the numbers to see if the spaceship will reach the outer space safely or will it crash. Such problems involves examining a wider range of factors from the bullet example. Flying a spaceship into outer space is more complicated than shooting a bullet into the air. It requires understanding of the atmosphere, fuel system, and how the environment changes once in space. All of which requires a human brain, not a computer to understand.

Lastly technology opens up new problems for humans to solve. Such as the invention of powerful telescopes allow us to visual space in a way that we had never been before. But this opens up new questions and new problems to ponder. For example recently black holes was thought to have a maximum mass of seven times the sun. But recently a new black hole was found to have forty times the mass of the sun. How is this possible? That is up to humans to discover.

Technology brings about greater potential for human minds to reach new heights and discovery. It is not a hindrance to our intellect, but a helper. Technologies helps with the mundane task, such that we may discover or solve complex issues.