As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

The statement lies on the assumption that reliance leads to vulnerability, which is also applied to human dependence on technological devices. Admittedly, we are familiar with the negative perspectives raised by conservative parties that technology is likely to damage humanity as it supplants the inherent elements of mental and physical activities. This tendency of denying significant discrepancies in the environment and the definition of human activity can be thought of as a natural response, as almost all living things dread essential changes in their surviving conditions. However, several misleading effects of overly dependent patterns of technology usage notwithstanding, the given assumption lacks significant insights for further discussion in terms of development. The following reasons show how technology may be an effective opportunity to enhance the potential of human capability.

Firstly, history proves that humanity has evolved through an excessive usage of tools which are exterior to our innate conditions. Obviously, the cultural devices that we now depend upon are originally the results of creative activities initiated by arduous research. For example, locomotive technology that drove the industrial civilization led to the invention of massive transportation and today’s globalization as well. Material conditions in which we reside consist of numerous accumulated technological innovations, and only through these technologies are we able to sustain social life. That is, opposite to the belief that our thoughts may deteriorate due to reliance, technology aids us to facilitate critical thinking, actively communicating with one another, and igniting new patterns of thoughts. Just remember the famous opening scene of the film Space Odyssey 2001 where a chimpanzee - known as our last common ancestors - clenches up a piece of bone in order to use it as its tool. The overwhelming revelation is conveyed through the screen, allowing us to think about the wonder of the tortuous courses of the development in technology.

Secondly, technology entails ever changing challenges which require us to be constantly alerted by what is happening around us. For example, the emergence of smart cars and the concept of an air taxi urged us to reconsider fundamental issues related to transportation. To which extent are we able to travel and what are our terrestrial boundaries? What are the philosophical shifts due to the allowance of vertical and horizontal movement? And more importantly, how much are we responsible for the unwanted harms that happen to the environment? Excessive construction of railroads and transportation hubs, massive usage of fossil fuels led to an irrevocable destruction in natural resources. As the climate change that we are now experiencing every moment has become an urgent task, it has become impossible not to take full responsibility to resolve the problems. Thus, technology has not led to critical idleness but indeed to enlarged scales of thoughts.

As such, in contrast to the statement, we can see how technology has emancipated human imagination. Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the implementation of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be no limite to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new avenues of human imagination.