As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position
you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or
might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.
The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human experience over
the past century. Surely there has been no time in history where the lived lives of people have changed
more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical day reveals how technology has revolutionized the
world. Most people commute to work in an automobile that runs on an internal combustion engine.
During the workday, chances are high that the employee will interact with a computer that processes
information on silicon bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving home, family members will be
reached through wireless networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth. Each of these common
occurences would have been inconceivable at the turn of the 19th century.
The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the ability for humans to
think for themselves. The assumption is that an increased reliance on technology negates the need for
people to think creatively to solve previous quandaries. Looking back at the introduction, one could
argue that without a car, computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical worker would need to find
alternate methods of transport, information processing, and communication. Technology short circuits
this thinking by making the problems obsolete.
However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity that marks the
human species. The prior examples reveal that technology allows for convenience. The car, computer,
and phone all release additional time for people to live more efficiently. This efficiency does not
preclude the need for humans to think for themselves. In fact, technology frees humanity to not only
tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues that did not exist without technology. For
example, the proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need for fuel conservation on a global scale.
With increasing energy demands from emerging markets, global warming becomes a concern
inconceivable to the horse-and-buggy generation. Likewise dependence on oil has created nation
states that are not dependent on taxation, allowing ruling parties to oppress minority groups such as
women. Solutions to these complex problems require the unfettered imaginations of maverick scientists
and politicians.
In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human imagination.
Consider how the digital revolution and the advent of the internet has allowed for an unprecedented
exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal for medical information, permits patients to self
research symptoms for a more informed doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways of thinking that
were previously closed off to the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions,
inspiration can arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the architects of the UN
Millenium Development Goals, based his ideas on emergency care triage techniques. The unlikely
marriage of economics and medicine has healed tense, hyperinflation environments from South
America to Eastern Europe.
This last example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides hope to the future of
humanity. By increasing our reliance on technology, impossible goals can now be achieved. Consider
how the late 20th century witnessed the complete elimination of smallpox. This disease had ravaged
the human race since prehistorical days, and yet with the technology of vaccines, free thinking humans
dared to imagine a world free of smallpox. Using technology, battle plans were drawn out, and smallpox
was systematically targeted and eradicated.
Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the implementation
of nanotechnology. Given the history of the human race, there will be no limit to the number of
problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new
things, but rather embrace a hopeful posture to the possibilities that technology provides for new
avenues of human imagination.