As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the
ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.
The statement linking technology negatively with free thinking plays on recent human experience over the past century. Surely
there has been no time in history where the lived lives of people have changed more dramatically. A quick reflection on a typical
day reveals how technology has revolutionized the world. Most people commute to work in an automobile that runs on an internal
combustion engine. During the workday, chances are high that the employee will interact with a computer that processes
information on silicon bridges that are .09 microns wide. Upon leaving home, family members will be reached through wireless
networks that utilize satellites orbiting the earth. Each of these common occurrences could have been inconceivable at the turn of
the 19th century.
The statement attempts to bridge these dramatic changes to a reduction in the ability for humans to think for themselves. The
assumption is that an increased reliance on technology negates the need for people to think creatively to solve previous
quandaries. Looking back at the introduction, one could argue that without a car, computer, or mobile phone, the hypothetical
worker would need to find alternate methods of transport, information processing and communication. Technology short circuits
this thinking by making the problems obsolete.
However, this reliance on technology does not necessarily preclude the creativity that marks the human species. The prior
examples reveal that technology allows for convenience. The car, computer and phone all release additional time for people to live
more efficiently. This efficiency does not preclude the need for humans to think for themselves. In fact, technology frees humanity
to not only tackle new problems, but may itself create new issues that did not exist without technology. For example, the
proliferation of automobiles has introduced a need for fuel conservation on a global scale. With increasing energy demands from
emerging markets, global warming becomes a concern inconceivable to the horse-and-buggy generation. Likewise dependence on
oil has created nation-states that are not dependent on taxation, allowing ruling parties to oppress minority groups such as
women. Solutions to these complex problems require the unfettered imaginations of maverick scientists and politicians.
In contrast to the statement, we can even see how technology frees the human imagination. Consider how the digital revolution
and the advent of the internet has allowed for an unprecedented exchange of ideas. WebMD, a popular internet portal for
medical information, permits patients to self research symptoms for a more informed doctor visit. This exercise opens pathways
of thinking that were previously closed off to the medical layman. With increased interdisciplinary interactions, inspiration can
arrive from the most surprising corners. Jeffrey Sachs, one of the architects of the UN Millenium Development Goals, based his
ideas on emergency care triage techniques. The unlikely marriage of economics and medicine has healed tense, hyperinflation
environments from South America to Eastern Europe.
This last example provides the most hope in how technology actually provides hope to the future of humanity. By increasing our
reliance on technology, impossible goals can now be achieved. Consider how the late 20th century witnessed the complete
elimination of smallpox. This disease had ravaged the human race since prehistorical days, and yet with the technology of
vaccines, free thinking humans dared to imagine a world free of smallpox. Using technology, battle plans were drawn out, and
smallpox was systematically targeted and eradicated.
Technology will always mark the human experience, from the discovery of fire to the implementation of nanotechnology. Given
the history of the human race, there will be no limit to the number of problems, both new and old, for us to tackle. There is no
need to retreat to a Luddite attitude to new things, but rather embrace a hopeful posture to the possibilities that technology
provides for new avenues of human imagination.