People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

The decision making process is complex and differs from one person to another. There are inumerous factors one must take into account in order to make an appropriate decision. Some people prefer to step away from their own emotions when making a judgement, sticking to their logical ideas. Others put their hearts first, letting their emotions make their decisions instead. Commonly, these last group find a logical way to explain their decision process after their actions took place. That is, with no doubts, a signal that they are poor decision makers.

First of all, deciding with logical requires a person to take into account all the given factors. This is essential in order to make a correct decision, because once something important is not considered, of course the consequences will be different than as the person's first predictions. For example, when a high school graduate is choosing what to study in college, several key factors must be in one's mind - such as courses avaliability, career oportunities, personal skills and last, but not least, the student's liking for the subjects to be taken. When all of that is taken into consideration, the decision is more logical, and therefore, more likely to cause positive effects.

It is clear in the afforementioned example that the emotions must not be completely forgotten when deciding something. However, deciding with emotions often fail to take into account key factors that can mine the process, leading to unpredictable consequences. The same student from the previous case may have a passion for music, for example. But if he fails to think about the possible jobs he will get as a musician in the place he lives, he may become a professionaly frustrated person.

Moreover, when a decision is made with logic, it is possible to to foresee problems that haven't still taken place, something that would be impossible when you think only about the emotions. If the student who dreams of becoming a musician finds a good college to study music, but also think about difficulties to get a job in his hometown after graduating, he may study music and move somewhere else. This is a logical decision, that takes into account not only his emotions, but also the way of solving a problem that is lekely to occur.

In other words, in spite of the fact that emotions are important when making a decision, it must be considered as one of the factors to be taken into account in the process. A good decision maker is able to understand his/her own emotions, combine that with all the other key factors available, foresee the consequences, and only then, take the first step on the action.