People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The issue here is that, people who make decisions based on emotions and try to justify them afterwards with logic are poor decision makers. I agree with the given statements because in my opinion an intelligent person will make hard decisions or important life decisions on logic rather than emotion.

A person faces different kind of challenges throughout his life and has different way of dealing with them. Some prefer taking them with emotion and some prefer logic. However, in reality, our emotions often deceive us by making us want to do things that should not be done. For example, one could be living in an area where the rate of robbery at night is very high. If the person decides to get ice-cream at 2AM, then that decision will be purely based on emotion. If he thought about the consequences of his decision with logic, he probably wouldn't go for ice-cream. Thinking logically could save the person from getting robbed or possibly getting killed or injured.

Now, this was a normal day example for a person. When a big life decision comes a person again, should only think with logic rather than emotion. There is a saying that, 'No good things comes out of your comfort zone'. However, when we think with emotion we would like to stay in our comfort zone. For example, a person could have a job offer that could change his life. But to get that job, he may have to move to a different state from where he was born and raised. A person thinking with emotion, would decide to stay at his home where he is comfortable and try to justify his decision later with logic. He will try to make himself understand that, staying happy is the most important thing and that he is happy where he is. Now, staying happy is important but maybe he could've been happier moving to the new state with the better job. In reality, he decided to not go for the better job offer because he was scared and made his decision based on emotions. The job could've changed his life for the better. People can adjust to new situation and that is one of the best things about human beings. A person who makes decision with logic would never be afraid to come out of his comfort zone. He will evaluate both the opportunities with reasons and is highly expected to come at a conclusion that he will benefit from.

A person who takes decisions based on logic doesn't need to justify the decision in the future because he thought of all outcomes before taking it. So, there is high chances that he will never regret his decision in the future.

People are sometimes deceived by emotion as they do things with haste. They rush in decisions thinking that will make them happy and regret later. Which is why, I agree the issue that people should basing their decision on emotions will surely try to justify them with logic afterwards. But that will not help them in any way but it will only make them regret their earlier decisions. So those people are indeed poor decision makers.