People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

There are many public service announcements from local law enforcement that state that "driving while emotional is as bad as driving drunk". While on the road, hundreds of small conscious and subconscious decisions are being made every second to get you and a 3,000 pound vehicle home safely. If an operation as ubiquitous and benign as driving a car can cause law enforcement to worry about emotions, then what other decisions can emotions affect negatively?

Humans can pick up on very subtle verbal and nonverbal cues, causing them to have a feeling or inclination towards a certain perspective. This "gut feeling" is something that usually shouldn't be ignored. While this is an emotion that occurs without us even thinking about it, we consistently override our natural instincts through rational and logical thinking based on the situation developing around us. While a "gut feeling" is considered an emotion that should not be ignored, extreme emotions can drastically affect decision making. Judgement can become so clouded that courts of law categorize extremely emotional crimes into "crimes of passion" which receive lesser punishment. The court of law itself recognizes the impulsiveness and detrimental decisions that emotion can cause, even up to the most heinous of crimes.

Poor decisions yield poor results. People that get desired results from their decisions are not left justifying the results to either themselves or the people around them. It can be inferred that you need to justify an emotional decision only because it yielded an undesirable result. Making an emotional decision and foregoing all logical though process not only leaves the person justifying his actions, but also rationalizing it. This is something he/she should have done prior to making the decision, and now the person is left "selling" themselves the poor decision.

Emotion is not entirely a bad way to create decisions. This is contingent on the type decision that will be made. A military decision requires a different type of thought process and approach than a decision to end a relationship with a short-time lover. While equanimity and logic is lauded among the military community, emotionally deriding an unfaithful partner can be seen as perfectly justifiable.

To conclude, emotional decisions can help improve a decision making process in certain situations. Generally, intense emotion will cause an undesirable result, leaving the person rationalizing the decision on the tail end.