People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

People who make decisions initially on the basis of emotion and then justify it using logic are no doubted the most poor decision makers. The decision taken on the basis of emotion are not always based on pure logic, they are generally distorted by emotions, which can sometimes be fatal.

People who makes decision using emotion generally don't consider the facts revolving around the situation and often take decisions as per their heart. This type of decision making is very dangerous in professional spheres of life, where a single decision can cost several lives or could result in serious financial or any other form of crisis. There are several anecdotes which portray emotional decision making as dangerous. A famous example would be the second world war. Adolf Hitler, when waging the second world war was warned by his most close associates that waging the second world war would cause serious damages to German Economy, which had just stabilised after the first world war. However, Hitler decided to follow his emotions and ambitions in making Germany a supreme power and decided to wage the war. After he waged the war, he gave logic that Germany would win very soon and would become prosperous again after winning the war. But as time passed the situation became more grim and eventually the consequence of this poor decision led to widespread bloodshed. Thus, a poor decision led to the loss of several thousand lives including his own.

However, there are situations, when decisions taken emotionally and justified later are not poor decisions. There are several occasions in which within a family a child gets distracted and ends up going with the wrong company, ends up doing something mischievous. Father even though knowing that it is wrong and logically his child should be in prison for his deeds, decides to protect his child out of his emotions. As a result, sometimes the father takes the blame of his child on himself and goes to prison, just in order to protect his child's career. Hence, even though it seems a like a wrong decision, but if we analyse the situation, then this was not a wrong decision on father's end.

Hence, people who take decisions emotionally and justify those decisions afterwards with logic are definitely the poorest decision makers and leads to catastrophic outcomes. However, there are indeed some decisions, which when taken emotionally cannot be justified as poor or wrong, especially the ones involving our loved ones.