People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Discern.It means a fine line when making judgements.This line is almost non existent when making decisions based on emotions.I agree partially with the authors' comment.We have a brain and all other animals too have it.The only difference is, we are aware of our existence and they are not.So to be aware is not enough we have to be consciously aware.So to be consciously aware we have to be driven by logic and not by emotions.

There are all kinds of mortals around, to be precise 10 billion, because everyone is different in its own kind.So if a decision one makes, may be regarded as the best one by others, but that decision may be hailed as a bad one.In short these are are subjective.

Decision are termed as choices which one makes.Now these can be impulsive or well thought of.An impulsive one is generally based on emotions.Now decisions based on emotions are influenced by an individuals' state of mind.For example when angry you may make a decision to to hit him/her.We have seen instances where our cricket team's decision were based on emotions.Like we had a player Rahul Dravid.This was his last match so the captain sent him 1st down.He was generally a player of fourth down.The match was a blunder and we lost. Now Dhoni tried explaining afterwards it was well though of because of the spinning pitch, but we all knew well enough.

Not only in the field of sports but otherwise too.As once a minister had won and was overjoyed so he promised a huge amount of money for everyone. But he failed to do so, so did the people did not vote for him. These are just examples where the decisions based out of emotions backfired. But there are instances when one can make a perfect decision when under critical emotions. They defy the general logic of logic itself. They make decisions and then they make sure such that these decisions that they took a while ago were the best ones. One may take a decision out of rage to beat him at sports or other field. Now this decision to beat him will make him work more and out of his bounds and will also improve his skills in a particular field.

So I feel the two genres can be compared with a subtle difference. People who make a decision based out of emotions cannot be termed completely as poor decision makers because for a decision to be poor it has to have less effect than the best decision would have. And to make a decision seem as best one can always mend the course after making a decision so as to make that decision the perfect one. Whereas decisions made after well planning and not based on emotions may at times do wonders or may spell disasters.