People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Every person’s life is the choices he/she made all along. And with all the choices comes the behavior and attitude one has, working in the hindsight. I agree to some extent that a person’s behavior is mostly decided by the factors which aren’t tractable.

Mistakes maketh a man, they say. And the way the humans react to any event is largely influenced by the previous experiences or mistakes one has made over the course of life. And since we as humans are scared beings and tend to learn from our personal encounters and come up with our own behavioral strategy to deal with situations next time. As an example, if a person is demeaned by his colleague in the office then next time he encounters his bully the obvious behavioral reaction of the person would be to either ignore him, or be vindictive, and react rashly.

Not only our personal experiences but also our childhood upbringing has a lot of say in the way we judge situations and act or react so. The morals or principles we grow up to unknowingly become the basis for everything we judge in our lifetime. And hence our behaviors are more or less dependent on that ideology imbibed upon us externally. Just like the big terrorist groups have targeted children at their very tender age with the religion or emotional tools that eventually ends up making them terrorists when they grow up. But at personal levels, these inhuman and nihilistic actions are totally justified in their eyes because they were taught those irrational and extreme theories at first place which became a pedestal to weigh any action they do in their life.

So it’s rightly said that a man can be judged by the company he keeps. The type of company a person lives with has great psychological influence which in turn is visible in the behavioral actions of the person. The company matters to such an extent that when students enter the college after their high school the company they get into either makes or breaks them. There have been many examples in our daily lives where students get into drugs or gangs at the very age they should have made their future.

Additionally, it can be said that although external forces do influence one’s behavior, timely self-introspection can be the tool to keep a check on one’s actions and get better control of one’s conduct. One can choose to keep on reacting or to act wisely to any situation in life. It’s natural to make a mistake and go astray at times but it is a wiser one who realizes it and takes it as an opportunity to become a better person.

Conclusively, one can say that the external forces are a guide to behavioral aspects of an individual but self-criticism and right judgment are helpful to counter any negative external factors in play.