People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Clearly it is close to impossible for people to maintain a well-to-do living isolated from society. The infrastructure, the people, the laws, the education, and all other components of society affect them as they live their life. This could lead some to argue that people's behaviors are largely dependent on external forces, outside their own will. Others could refute this notion claiming that humans dictate their own behaviors. In actuality, I believe that humans are influenced by external forces more so than they want to believe, and it shows in their behaviors.

Admittedly, as humans are "homo sapiens" beings, it is a given that they basically have the power to think for themselves and make their own decisions. Based on this notion, some could state that it is ludicrous to say that their behaviors are actually largely dependent on other factors. The reason for such a possible backlash is because this essentially implies that people do not, in actuality, have control over their own lives. If external forces dictate your every movement and every thought, what would be the point of living as yourself? This would mean that people are living in a paradox in which "they" aren't actually the masters of their "own life." People would have to keep adjusting and modulating their life to the situation they are put in, behaving in ways that seem right to other people, which is an irony by itself, because that indicates that nobody's behavior is actually his or her own act of desire.

However, what is previously stated is more of an overstatement. As a member of a family, a group of friends, a society, and a nation, a person has to conform to the norms and tacit rules that exist in each particular group. In order for a group to maintain order, it is essential that each person conforms to the conventions, otherwise chaos could ensue. For example, in most cities in the world, it is illegal to walk around naked in public, enforcing people to not be tempted to behave in this way. The public has to refrain from engaging in this behavior unless its intention is to get punished for breaking the law. Even though this is a restriction on people's behaviors, they understand and abide by these rules because they believe laws are reasonable. As such, everyday, we are behaving in ways bound to the regulations that exist, but we do not feel any discontent towards them, because we comprehend that they need to be adhered to.

Also, the path people choose to take relies heavily on their upbringing and education, which are external forces highly intimate with their identities. In many statistics, it is easy to find that people who grew up in impoverished neighborhoods do not earn as much money or are as satisfied with their jobs as those who are raised in fairly wealthy homes. In documentaries and on the news, we can see many people explaining that the reason they currently work at their jobs is because that is what they were frequently exposed to when they were growing up. It is common to see children of doctors grow up to be physicians, and those raised by parents who are professors become professors themselves. People are unknowingly influenced by their familial background because it naturally becomes what defines them, and thus has a tremendous effect in the way they behave in life.

In conclusion, I do believe people's behaviors are largely affected by external elements. This does not mean that people's ability to choose what they want to do is deterred by other impediments. Rather, people are able to make safe and justifiable choices on essentially vital and pertinent matters because external rules exist. Also, based on anecdotal evidence of how future careers are selected, familial and educational background are integral factors that affect people's behavior as well.