Claim: Major policy decisions should always be left to politicians and other government experts.

Reason: Politicians and other government experts are more informed and thus have better judgment and perspective than do members of the general public.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

All properly functioning nations are operated by politicians and government experts who coordinate with each other in making major policy decisions. The general public's opinion towards them are usually ambivalent; sometimes people support the announcements made by government officials, and in others, they criticize the decisions that are made. This has brought on the claim that perhaps members of the general public might make better policies for the nation, but I hardly doubt that this is a legitimate contention. Important policy decisions should always be mandated by politicians and other professionals they work with.

The main reason the general public is not equipped to make important decisions is that the mass public is liable to fall into disputes over each group's interest. There are many different interest groups with various kinds of agendas, and each person will prefer to enact a law or policy that benefits him or herself. Even if the politicians are the ones making the decision, it is easy to see many people protesting against policies that harms them, and arguing for policies that they are advantageous to them. These kinds of NIMBY and PIMFY attitudes will increase once authority is given to the mass public to make difficult choices. It is only plausible because most people are more interested in their immediate surroundings, and what direct impacts government decisions will have on their lives. Therefore, it would not be wise to let the public make huge decisions.

Those who support the idea of the public having a say in political discussions could claim that government officials take too long a time in making decisions. It is somewhat true that politics does not quickly adapt to the changes happening in the vast majority of the world. For instance, gay marriage has only been started to get legalized by countries a few years ago. There have been countless years of homosexuals demanding equal rights, and the politicians had a rather long deliberation in finally accepting their rights to get married. The people of the public are more amiable to the changes occurring in the world, and they do have certain ground for claiming that they would make faster decisions than the government.

However, we must think about why we elect politicians in the first place. Government figures exist to represent all ideas of all groups in the nation, and they receive help from experts to make a more informed and agreeable decision. If people started to carry out action for the sake of acting quickly, making an imprudent decision is highly probable. When officially proclaiming a policy to be in effect, the various repercussions that will follow need to be considered, and this is why politicians are elected. They represent the needs and demands of the people, but they also remain objective to reach the most optimal conclusion. A nation is not run by the intense emotions of the vast majority; people have to think about what the consequences will be, and carefully look over them, and that's the job for the politicians.

In conclusion, there just isn't enough evidence to suggest that members of the public can make better major policy decisions than politicians and relevant experts. Politicians are more adept at making wise decisions that can maintain order and minimize the negative effects that can be incurred from making important decisions. Therefore, the public should have more faith in the work that they do.