Politicians should pursue common ground and reasonable consensus rather than elusive ideals.

In an undoubtedly complex era of always prevaricating politicians, discussing the necessity of a concrete consensus from the citizen needs, for sure, to consider the many aspects of the role of the ruler and the relationship that links people’s interests and the responsibility of a politician. This means, all being said, that, as history clearly demonstrates, men of politics have to guide nations towards idealistic decision with an attempt to improve the social awareness of a greater, less narrow-minded point of view, still paying attention not to forget that the politician himself is not flawless and needs to seek approval and feedback from his people to understand their eventual mistakes.

One of the most recognizable example of the importance of ideals when dealing with politicians’ acts is the late 18th century French Revolution. In that circumstance, few wise thinkers guided their fellow citizens to several fundamental revolutionary actions that led straight to the modern set of European political mechanisms: those of our democracy. Basically, Montesquieu and his colleagues forced French population to rise against their oppressors (the kings) and, while consensus arrived only much after the first stages of the revolution, it is unavoidable to observe that, all considered, people were thankful to those eccentric thinkers at the end of the century.

Moreover, right now we are experiencing what is called “Populism”, a brand new political attitude that encourages politicians, like Trump in America, Salvini in Italy and a considerable amount of other European leaders, to blindly follow the sort of social justice that masses ask for. This results in a non-extant attempt of giving value to the rich asset of moral and ethical values that our long-standing history has come up with, first among all the awareness of global pollution and the attention for migration fluxes. In these circumstances, then, politicians forget how pivotal it is to show a correct path for their nation to follow, thus avoiding that citizens, who have a concretely poorer view on geo-political measures, fall into unforgivable traps just like the one of the unstoppable global warming.

Nevertheless, it is again from history that it is clever to extract a correct and wiser point of view over this topic. In fact, while it is crucial to have even elusive ideals to seek, some social situations may need a correction in politicians’ behaviour. For instance, consider Italy and its relatively young history: it was born in 1861, when a group of soldiers and simple citizens, headed by Garibaldi, tried to unite the entire peninsula under one unique government. Unfortunately, he did a tremendous mistake: he did not consider how mandatory was for his goals to be achieved that Italians were aligned with his ideals of a single great nation. This resulted in an unhappy reaction from the whole population and still nowadays, sometimes, people maintain that Italy itself is but an imposition, surely not wanted by the people themselves, that clearly shows how politicians do need to pursue a minimum common consensus by their ruled and cannot just impose their ideals, even if these are perfectly reasonable.

Under the light of these historical and modern evidences, it seems coherent to accept that politicians do gain advantages from their people’ consensus, but they still mainly have to give their citizens an idealistic guide that, be it elusive or not, will eventually lead the nation to a more consistent and convenient decision by both the citizens and the politicians they sustain.