The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for t

I do not agree with the statement. Increasing efficiency and productivity of humans is only one goal of the technology advancement; there are other equally important goals for technology advancement. Moreover, the time saved by technology advancement can be used for creative work other than for leisure.

Some fields of technology are not increasing efficiency of people, but they are making people healthier. For example, researchers in the medical field are developing new medicines and therapies to treat formerly incurable diseases. For example, before Penicillin was invented, millions of people injured in war were dead because of infection. After Penicillin was invented, infection was no longer as deadly as before. Penicillin along with other antibiotics, helped to save lots of lifes nowadays. The development in medical technology does not increase our efficiency in life, but they are so important that they increase our life expectancy greatly. This goal of technological development is equally important as increasing efficiency.

Another important goal of technological development is to increase happiness of people. In order to be happy, people should maintain a good relationship with their surroundings. A good piece of technology invention can facilitate communication and help people to maintain good relations with their friend and family, and thus make them feel satisfied. For example, with the help of Internet, we can communicate with our friends even if we are on opposite sides of the earth, and share great moments with each other in video chat. These communication technology helps us to communicate more vividly and make us feel no longer lonely.

Undoubtedly, just as the statement says, the advancement of technology has enable us to be more efficient and productive than before. Technology has shortened long distance for us. For example, when the airplane had not been invented, the fastest vehicle might be the car, which can travel 100 kilometers per hour. We cannot travel by airplanes as fast as 10 times faster than by car. Moreover, technology has also increased our productivity. With computers and software, we can do math thousands of times faster than human mind. All these advancement in technology has saved us time for some other purposes. Some people used this saved time for leisure.

However, this saved time can be used for more creative work other than entertainment. Although some of the repetitive, routine work can be replaced by technology gadgets such as computers, there are still much work for human to do. Let's take the computers for example. Though the computers can follow human's instructions to do repetitive calculations, there are work cannot be done by computers. This work usually requires human intelligence and creativity, for example, writing a novel, drawing an impressionism picture, or designing new gadgets in technology, and human can use the time saved by computers on these pieces of work.

In all, the statement failed to see that there are other equally important goals of technology development and that the saved time can be used for more creative work, so I do not agree with it.