A private company should not have the right to do business in a city if the majority of the city s residents object to the private company s business operations

Any business establishment requires some sort of space to operate at. Given prompt suggests if citizens of a locality are against establishment of one such business, government should be in favor of citizens by not allowing a private organization to set up such business in that city. I strongly agree with the prompt and argue that a city is for it's citizens, hence there welfare should be of utmost priority.

In any city, It's important to cope up with the needs of constituent citizens of that locality. An incessant disturbance to their peace of mind should be avoided at any cost. Consider a city with families well settled. If a private company wants to open up a pub in city center, families with kids in their house will surely oppose to that. For instance, if a child is studying for his exam and if there is a loud noise coming out of pub, that will constantly irritate her and eventually frustrate from studying. Families might not want to raise their kids in the vicinity of a place were they are exposed to alcoholic habits every day. So when citizens object for such business establishment, Government should honor and perhaps suggest the company to do the business in a place were it's more appropriate.

Further, when a business establishment is made against the whim of it's surrounding citizens, people tend to reject anyone or anything associated with that company. For instance, when a new business is set out, it needs people to operate it. Well! now that locals won't like this business, most of them don't want to work there. Even when company hires people from outside this city, they might need locals help in renting a place to live. People would also reject the product manufactured there and would even give negative reviews about it that would lead to over all brand diminishing for the company. This will not only affect this branch of the company but will reflect in business at other places as well. So company by itself should avoid establishing a business operation when netizens oppose.

Some might argue that, listening to citizens might shut a business opportunity for the company or even lead to exclusion of a particular organization by citizens. But considering the trouble it could cause to locals and for the company itself, such establishment should be avoided.