“A private company should not have the right to do business in a city if the majority of the city’s residents object to the private company’s business operations.”

Reading through the lines some historic events trigger to my mind and as I think more deeper and rationally over the given statement , I agree to it. History has taught us many things , one of the many which I would like to use here for my argument is - small nation/territories came under complete control of foreign countries as they fancied some “business” to their country.For example, India was ruled by Britain for several decades and it all started with a small overseas business by Britishers.

Time has surely changed and those exact conditions may not be valid entirely in the present day context but we cannot discard it completely and thus learn from it that forceful expansion is not business, instead it is converted to ruling over.

If majority of the city’s residents are not willing to let a private company start business operations in their city, I think their willingness must be respected.They might have reasonings of their own, but one should listen to them as its their city, their heritage, their culture. Maybe they want to preserve their culture and bringing business to the city is endangering it. So, their decision must be respected. Freedom is a big deal now-a-days so why not it should be valid for a mass of people and what they want for their city.After all, as it is said charity begins at home and thus the freedom.

When a business is started in a certain locality, there are so many factors which should be considered in order ,not to unbalance the life around the area. Such as bringing business to a city can increase its traffic congestion, population, pollution etc.

For instance, pollution and population is one of the biggest problems of developing/ under-developed countries because the regulations are not strictly followed there. Majority corrupt companies owners initially start their business by bribing the area government officials, and once established they run their business entirely for their own benefit and discarding all regulations which does not give them direct monetary benefit.

Therefore, whether it be large or small business endeavor , one must always take the consent of the local people because no other person will know the area well enough historically, culturally and geographically to take the correct decision.

One more reason I would like to highlight here is that, several times the private companies are not quite transparent about their policies and they have hidden holes in their policies which they later use purely for their own alacrity which can have negative impact on the city and their people.

A city has a smaller number of people and not everyone is highly educated, people may fall for specious promises. To protect their people from falling into a trap, the not allowing of business operations decision again sounds favorable to me.

One might try to justify that business should be allowed in the city without locals’ consent by saying that it will bring business and thus revenue to the city, increasing quality of life there. It might appear tempting at first , but once given a deeper analysis - losses are more here than superficial gain. Money lost can be earned but once natural ecosystem is disturbed it has more devastating outcomes.

In conclusion, I would like to restate that I firmly agree with the argument and business must not be allowed without the consent of local people. The decision taken by locals is vital for their city, lifestyle, culture , heritage and at some levels the economic structure of city as well; and it must be respected.