Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

When guns are in good men’s hand, gun protects people and brings order to the society. But when guns are in bad men’s hand, gun hurts people, and threatens the safety of society. So are scandals. Whether scandals are useful or benefit to our society should not be determined by the nature of itself, but how people would make use of it.

Through out our human history, scandals play an important role in improving human’s thought and advanced us to a civilized society. Scandals expose the hypocritical side of authorities, and eliminate over-idolization to public figures. Back in the 16th century Europe, people were manipulated and deceived by Roman Catholic Church, thinking they can be repented through buying indulgences from church, and still praising the holiness of church. It was not until Martin Luther published the Ninety-five Theses, refuted the teaching and the behavior of Roman Catholic Church that people started to realize and focus their attention to the corruption and other problems of Church.

This scandal later led to the Protestant Reformation, and became the turning point and the most influential event in our human history that made people begin to question their authority and protect their own right. Nowadays, we have public media, which is so called the fourth estate, aiming to balance the power of Government and protect people’s right to know. By revealing scandals, media help public to break myths and reveal the problems of public figures and authority, just like Martin Luther did.

However, in today’s world, with the rise of freedom of the press and the spread of media, it is often seen that scandal became a tool for attention, merely to satisfy public curiosity, and to earn higher internet click-through rate. Instead of focusing attention on the real issues, this phenomenon distracts off the society from issues where should be actually focus on. Take the notorious Lewinsky scandal for example. In 1998, the whole nation was crazily focusing on this white house affair, but meanwhile there was actually a more crucial task that needed both the media and Clinton administration to focus on ---- terrorist threat.

In order to deal with this scandal, Clinton administration was distracted to pursuing Bin Laden, and failed to cripple Al-Qaeda, which planted a hidden threat to the nation’s future. Because of Lewinsky scandal, those decisions should be made, and those issues should be discussed were neglected, that ceased the progress of the entire society. In this democratic society, it is necessary that public figures, especially politicians, need to be scrutinized. However, media should always take a deep introspection of that whether the scandal is benefit to our society, and help public to focus on the issues that matter.

Today, scandals are often related to sensational news, which satisfy people’s curiosity, rather than reveal serious problems and gather people’s attention to understand and confront the issues. Scandal can be benefit to our society, like how it took place during Protestant Reformation, yet can also be harmful to our society, like the influences that Lewinsky scandal brought. As so called the fourth estate, press media should use scandals wisely, letting scandals play its role of disclosing hypocrisy and corruption, and fulfill the key role of bringing the important issues to public.