Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals focus our attention on a large number of problems. It is often seen that many large scale problems of the society are ignored and come to light only in the form of scandals and are then dealt with. For example, some actress in Hollywood recently said that she was sexually assaulted by Harvey Weinstein. Following her, a large number of other actresses made similar allegations against him as a result of which many movie communities have abandoned him, he is ostracized from the society and he has also lost a couple of upcoming projects. Another example would be the allegations made against Kevin Spacey that he is responsible for molesting a number of men. This lead to him being removed from the hit Netflix drama ‘House of Cards’. Apart from these, many tax frauds committed by people in positions of power have come to light in the form of scandals which lead to widespread protests and the guilty being punished.

However, it would be wrong to say that scandals focus our attention on problems in ways that no social reformer or speaker could. History proves that our society is slowly changing. In 19th century India, the system of Sati was extremely prevalent. Widows were burned at the funeral pyre of their husbands. This system was abolished due to the hard work of social reformers like Raja Ram Mohan Roy who travelled all throughout the country and made people realize the futility of the situation. Abolishment of racism took place only because a lot of politicians and social reformers lightened the general population to the plights of the colored race. People today are aware of a large number of environmental problems as well like global warming, air population, water pollution and wastage and depletion of natural resources like fossil fuels. This did not happen because some scandal broke out one fine day. Rather it happened because of scientists who on knowing the upcoming dangers to our society alerted the people to their fate should they continue their present habits.

Scandals are mostly related to famous people and their problems. They mainly deal with situations where a person has done something illegal or has committed an act of injustice against another person. At times they also represent a general problem, like from the Harvey Weinstein case we get to know that many new actors in the industry are molested and are then asked never to mention it to others. However, the social workers and reformers mainly deal with problems that people are experiencing for many years. They deal with situations that a lot of people want to change but never found the voice to do so. They at times deal with the problems that only a minority of the population face, gay rights and legalization of bisexual marriage, giving equal rights to the transgender population, equal rights to women being a few examples. A mere scandal cannot bring these changes.

It is no doubt true that at times scandals do bring to light some major wrong doings going on in the society. However it will be wrong to say that they are more effective than the actions of social reformers.