Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

The issue of whether or not scandals are useful to focus our attention on problems better than a speaker is a very contentious one. While each side has its one strength and weakness, I believe that scandals are useful for focusing our attention on problems, because insult is better approach than advice to correct people. Furthermore, scandal can force people to rethink about their problems.

First, It is human nature that when people get insulted rather than a qualified advice, they focus more on their problems. Most people think that they are right and there is no significant reason to correct themselves. In addition, people do not want to hear about their problems and advice from others. Whenever a scandal occurs, it is potentially detrimental for related person and must be ignominious for him. Sometimes, scandal can be the cause of a person to be punished. As a result, scandal indirectly forces people to think about their problem. For example, someone takes bribes and he knows that it is a crime but he does not care until it becomes a scandal. After then he is forced to think about his bribery, because of the disapproval of his society and fear of punishment.

Some may argue that scandals are not always true and it may cause from rumors which gives people fallacious blame, so there is nothing to focus on. This point is flawed because the main objective is to focus on their own problems. If the scandal is based on rumours that does not mean that the person is completely innocent. Moreover, he will be precarious about his other problems so that no further scandal occurs.

In conclusion, nobody is perfect, everybody has problems and it is their duty to minimize it. Scandal may have it's own problem but it can be helpful for people to identify and focus on their own problems. For these reasons, scandal are useful more than a speaker.