Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are a common part of politics and fame, and often inform public opinion. However, scandals are detrimental to progression of society because they cause polarity between sides and are irrelevant to the truly important problems.

There are always multiple sides, or opinions, on how to address problems in society. A common way to gain footing to push one’s opinion further than another’s is to discredit the people supporting the opposing side, and not attacking the opinion itself. People often use scandals in this way to bring down their opposition and cause polarity. However, this strategy is faulty in that it does nothing to show how the opinions, recommendations, or beliefs of the opposition are wrong. Additionally, it allows the side, guiltless of the scandal, to latch on to something and potentially cause stagnation in progress on important problems.

Scandals are often blown out of proportion and are completely irrelevant to the real problem at hand. Take a sex scandal for instance. Say a politician was caught renting a prostitute during their time traveling for different meetings to discuss a crisis, such as a natural disaster. Much of society frowns on such an act and thus, the politician would have to spend a load of their time, that they should be using to address the crisis, at press conferences, apologizing to the public for their slip up. Maybe the public would even call for the politician to step down from office. During this time, the victims of a natural disaster would be neglected and a politician, who might be otherwise good at their job, would step down from office.

On the other hand, it is common for politicians, with good qualifications, but hidden character traits that make them unfit to lead, to be elected into office. Imagine a strong, decisive leader with excellent qualifications that has a tendency to be rash. Until said leader is put to the test in a real scenario, voters may be unaware of the extent of their temperance. A scandal might illuminate such a personality trait before it exposes itself in a scenario where it truly matters.

Ultimately, it is unwise of people to allow scandals to obscure what is actually important, solving problems, by distracting the public and stalling progress.