Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Scandals are a result of crime, they focus our attention towards the main problem. As this happens people tend to learn a lot from them. This helps society to improve and develop on its own.

People are likely to learn more from practical mistakes than just by reading and listening. When a scandal happens it results in an investigation and then the party at fault is sent to punishment. This creates fear into the minds of people not to commit any mistake. Scandals helps problems to come into the picture and is known to a large number of public whereas a speaker or reformer could only convey their messages to small number of people. .

On the other hand, speaker and reformers brings attention of people towards an issue before it happens. As we all know "Precaution is better than the cure" speeches by reformers helps to create awareness amongst society. However, discussing an issue in front of people may also create negative impact on the minds of criminals.

Thus, I feel that scandals are useful to create awareness and bring people focus than reformes.