“Schools should be responsible only for teaching academic skills and not for teaching ethical and social values.”

Essay topics

Contradicting the thought of many peoples, “school is responsible for teaching only academic skills and activities rather than ethics and social values”, I believe that school is best platform to learn academic and social activities as well. Not only is insight of knowledge through educational activities, but also social and ethical activities are most required ingredients to survive in human society. We know better that the primary role of school is to grow students’ adult life. Many contexts can be presented which, obviously, do disprove the thought of majority of peoples.

Merely, students start schooling at adult; it is started at juvenile age. During such fledging age, mind of every students are like pot making clay. This analogy explicitly interprets: as the clay gives desired shapes of pot similarly the students mind can be molded to desire orientation by the teachers in their school. So in this learning phase, if students get opportunities to learn socials values and ethics then these lead them to good social beings.

Even though, students spend a lot of times in their home, they are confined within four walls and among modicum numbers people i.e. their family members; but, they get exposure with huge masses. Moreover, they interact with significant peoples which let them pour over good moral behavior. Such regular empirical behaviors accustom them to grow socialized adult. As it is clear that students have best field to apply practically, they also need to be taught theoretically. It becomes responsibility of teachers to teach also social behavior instead of only academic activities within the school.

Many people believe that parents are best tutors to teach children social values but many job-holders folks, who tight schedule on their works, have very less time to spend with their children. These kinds of parents hand over their children to school to make them wise academically along with socially. If students from such family only get academic knowledge then such students, obviously, become socially clumsy.

Finally, we conclude that the primary goal off school is to give excellence education so better it focus on the academic curriculum but also need to teach social, ethical and moral behavior to their students. In order to do so, students are allowed to participate in social activities.