Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that

could be used to challenge your position

Non-academic skills are certainly essential in one’s life. Who would be able to live or work normally, if they do not have some basic skills like communication or teamwork? Therefore, a well-constructed society should have well-skilled individuals. A skill such as leadership is definitely not earned through academic study. Hence, Schools should take more action to educate the youth and help them to earn such skills.

To emphasize the importance of such skills, I will go through some examples. One of which is financial literacy. There are so many financial decisions that are crucial to one’s life and therefore, anyone who does not have such skill is taking too many risks. Another skill is leadership, every country is expected to have some leaders. And it is too dangerous to give the task to teach such skill to luck and fate.

However, school should not be the only source to such education. There should be an influential part on the parents. Households should have environments that encourages learning non-academic skills. The school role should be complimentary to the family role.

Finally, learning non-academic skills is certainly important in one’s life and it would definitely help societies to have easier lifestyles. However, both schools and households should participate in this role.