Schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.

Academia does well to expand the mind of those who are intellectually curious. The classroom allows students to explore real-world issues without immediate consequences. This further allows a student, to address an issue in its entirety without being tangibly affected. But an essential aspect of learning should include practical knowledge. This is especially important when one begins to enter the age of adulthood. Therefore, to appropriately grasp non-academic aspects of adulthood, a student should be given the ability to apply theoretical knowledge to practical knowledge.

Practical knowledge, or experiential learning, allows one to apply theoretical knowledge in the classroom to the real world. For instance, a student can take part in an internship to fulfill a practicum requirement. Of course, these experiences benefit one professionally, but they ultimately allow one to apply theoretical knowledge practically. Because of experiential learning, students have a better understanding of real-world issues.

If a student is not able to grasp issues practically, especially those outside the classroom, one is set back not only intellectually, but also professionally. In today’s job market, students who have graduated with not only stellar academic performance but exceptional extracurricular experience, are found much more promising candidates in the job market. That is especially the case since such students understand the world practically. They have been able to apply their knowledge in the classroom in a real-world setting, making their experiences a commodity.

Some may argue that if an academic curriculum is properly structured, a student should not be concerned about applying theoretical knowledge outside the classroom. This may be the case for those studying social science or the humanities. However, for STEM majors, there is a concern for social ineptitude. Their knowledge is bred in a controlled setting. Even if variables are applied, they do not effectively emulate real-world circumstances. For example, one studying biology should then part take in field studies, which ensures their knowledge be applied practically.

It is imperative one be able to grasp non-academic aspects of learning leading into adulthood. Such a student is better in touch with real-world issues because of their access to experiential learning. Without such knowledge, one may not be able to apply practical knowledge appropriately, possibly making them less competitive in the job market post-graduation. However, if one makes it a point to aid theoretical knowledge with practical knowledge, a student is better prepared to face the world outside the classroom.