Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society’s problems.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Through the advance in science and technology, many problems of society have been solved. Some have not been completely solved yet, such as the cure of cancer. Others as communication and transportation are in constantly evolution. However, there are some problems that require human's decision and should not count on science and technology to be answered.

Everyday judges make decisions that impact the whole life of a person such as arrest warrants and death orders in countries which allow death penalties. No machine is able to make this decision, because there are very variables and the fact's interpretation lead to different conclusions. That is why in many countries judges count on juries’ votes to analyze each case.

In addition to morality matters, health issues are improbable to be fully performed by machines. It is true that nowadays surgeons perform minimally invasive surgeries guided by robots, nevertheless it is very common to surge a complication such as internal bleeding that requires the doctor to open the patient. Or it could be the case to interrupt the procedure and try again later, in the occasion the vital signals are decreasing. In other words, the circumstances change every minute, there is no rule in the matter of human body's reactions, and for this reason, it is up to a professional to look at every nuance and determine the next steps.

On the other hand, one could argue that when machines and robots work, the risk of human failure is zero. Yet this is true, it should be taken into account that robots are not risk free, as mentioned in the above paragraph, there is the risk to not stop or change the approach, when necessary, especially in human body surgeries. In summary, the risk of human failure and robot's wrong choice is mitigated when they are working together, instead of only one of them.

In conclusion, science and technology will not solve all the society's problems, rather they are going to keep helping, optimizing the results, and mitigating the risks collaboratively with the decisions makers - the humans. In other words, a machine may work better than a person, however a person and a machine together work better than any machine.