“Scientific theories, which most people consider as ‘fact,’

almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should

look upon any information described as ‘factual’ with

skepticism since it may well be proven false in the future.”

Write an essay in which you take a position on the statement

above. In developing and supporting your viewpoint, consider

ways in which the statement might or might not hold true.

The argument above assert that the scientific theories should not be trusted as in recent future the theory might be proven false. Though it is true that in many cases scientific theories later have been proven wrong but there are also credible theories upon which the world is still running. Whenever we are using any theories, it is always good to know the background, scope and limitation of the theories but to reach the extreme position of not using the theories and looking down with skepticism might cause unnecessary time allocation to extraneous things and remain other task unfinished which will depend upon those theories.

Whenever a scientific theory is derived if it proof checked several times by many researchers and also in the first place the researchers or scientists working on that theory have lend several evidence and related derivation to prove their hypothesis. So, for once in a while case, there is no point in looking down at the work of the people with skepticism. These theories of the very researchers are used in making several other derivations, though it is true if the first derivations are based on false assumptions then other theories based on these derivation will not hold true. Having said that, this very fact by default becomes the proof check of its mother theory. Take newtons law of motion for example, almost all other theories of physics is based on the newtons law of motion, if his theory would not hold true then none of the other theories will, and by looking down with skepticism on newton's theory might take the world more backwards than accepting the theory and working further on it did.

Besides looking down at theory with skepticism will deter ourselves from accomplishing our objective where we might need to use that theory. Now the question might rise if the theory itself is wrong then whatever finding we get for our study using that theory will be baseless. But we must keep in mind that this working with the theory further will lead to new invention either of new one or amendment of existing one.

It is true that that some theories proves wrong after sometime, for example the initial thought of the earth's being flat or the atomic structure. But those theories were an inception point of prosperity. We came to know about the theory being not right by working on it further. There is scope for amendment in every single thoughts and theories in the world, but to do that we need to first accept it and work on it with due diligence. But if we look at scientific theory and thinking about it not being true then we will always look for finding the flaws in it which will lead to no new inventions.

To sum up, scientific theories might not be proven right all the time but it should be remembered that it was done with proper research and evidence and the way to go about it even if at the end the theory is found false is to accept the theory and work on it further. If we keep looking at finding clues to make it appear false then we will loose track of out own work and the world will face a slow growth altogether.