"Scientific theories, which most people consider as 'fact', almost invariably prove to be inaccurate. Thus, one should look upon any information described as 'factual' with skepticism since it may well be proven false in future"

For a statement to receive the title of a theory it has to go through the process of experimentation and statistical analysis. At first a hypothesis is formed from an observation. After extensive experimentation, data is collected. The data is analysed statistically to find correlations and proof. Once it is proved that a correlation is found the statemtent is proved to be a theory.

While some scientific theories have changed over the course of years many remain integral for the development in the scientific communities. There is room for development in any theory. Instead of debunking them, many scientists thrive to explore into the realm of these theories.

When mankind discovered the existence of particles they thought that is was revolutionary. For many years they theorized that objects where made up of small sand like objects known as particles and that theory of the pinnicle of Chemistry. Later it was discovered that the particles were really atoms of different elements that are found in nature. These elements came in different shapes and sizes. After looking more into it a scientist discovered that these atoms can be further broken down into subatomic particles of different properties.

They did not completely disregard the theory that came before them. They treated the theories that came before them as a foundation for their studies. The fact still remained that matter was made of particles which where made of atoms and inturn where made of subatomic particles.

Before accepting something as a scientific theory, the source should be checked. Where is the information coming from? Many magazine articles use the word theory in passing without proper analysis of the situation. ‘A new theory proved that soy milk will cause cancer if consumed in large amounts’. Many times these theories are proved from data taken from small communities where other factors are in play. While these are theories these are not necessarily facts.

It is worth looking at some scientific theories with skepticism. Especially the ones that are in development because the scientific community is trying to argue both ends of the spectrum. But many scientific theories are now foundations of scientific development and should be taken as facts