Scientists and other researchers should focus their on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people

The statement claims that researchers and experts should explore areas that are likely to benefit a large portion of the population. There are so many problems we are facing today. Environment-related problems, economy-related problems, problems in the medical field, and so on. As it is well known that research in any field requires a large amount of fund. So it is not wise to spend that much money on research that will benefit only a few people.

Firstly, in the twenty-first century, researchers and scientists have to deal with environmental problems such as pollution, the availability of drinkable water, climate change, global warming, and etcetera. Furthermore, it is the responsibility of the government to provide sufficient fund to deal with such impending problems. In addition, such research requires a large portion of the fund from the budget of the country. For instance, in Delhi, air pollution is at an alarming rate. So, government and scientists collectively have to deal with this problem. As dealing with pollution will benefit all living organism, researchers should focus more on such problems.

Secondly, there are some problems such as poverty, unemployment and other economy-related problems those need to be addressed as soon as possible. Thus experts and other researchers should focus on dealing with such problems as these problems have affected many people. And if the large portion of the country's population is unemployed or living below the poverty line than it is better to spend resources to solve these problems rather than on research that will have little or no benefit in near future.

And finally, it is not wise to spend a large amount of fund on research related to space. Building spacecraft and experiment related to quantum particle required a large amount of fund and will have relatively little immediate implication. Furthermore, sending a human into space or growing plant on mood will not provide benefit to the majority of people. So it is better to spend money on research that will benefit the greatest number of people.

In sum, though research in any field has importance, it is advisable to spend resources on research that will benefit the greatest number of people. Because the ultimate goal of research should be to provide benefit to the people. Thus, resources spent on the research is said to well spend if a large portion of its people will get benefits.