Should governments provide free university education to poor students who are admitted university?

Many people would agree with the argument that governments should provide free university-level education to students who cannot afford to pay tuition. The argument seems rational at first sight; however, there are disagreeable points to certain extent.

Admittedly, free university education for poor student would have significant meaning to those students. A degree of education and social achievement have strong causal relation. So, if poor students also can go to university without worrying about tuition, it will be great opportunity for them to get out of their financially corrupted situation and achieve more socially and economically. Historically, education has been regard as an only exit of poverty. For instance, African-American people have devoted to nurture their degree of education to end-up their generations of poverty and achieve political power. As a result, well-educated African-American Barak Obama has been elected as a president of United States. It he didn’t have any opportunity to go to college and get high-level education, he couldn’t devoted himself to enhance equity in society of United States. So, whether poor or not, all students have to have equal opportunity to get university-level education and governmental supports would be beneficial to the students who cannot go to university because of their financial condition.

However, the thing should be considered in advance to validate the argument is, the fact that there are plenty of financial support programs which already exist for students who cannot afford to go to university. Considering these programs, it is questionable that governments’ support is needed as well. In other words, governments’ support for free education can be redundant solution for poor students. In addition, Governments’ budget could be used in other priorities rather than supporting college-level students such as preventing epidemic disease or supporting people suffering from natural disaster which are more crucial. In this point of view, the argument is disagreeable because governments’ support for educating poor students would be less beneficial for overall society. Furthermore, if governments intervene to support students to go to university and spend their budget additionally, the entire tax will be increased. The increased tax would be unfair to some people who can afford tuition of university or who don’t have any children have university-level education.

In sum, although governments’ support for poor student can give those students more opportunity to get highly-educated and to get away from their plight; it can be general loss of society.