Should humans only save species which are at risk of extinction because of human activities?

Over a thousand species disappear every year. The number of species that are functionally extinct is also precipitously increasing. To many city dwellers who procure their food at supermarkets and give less than a second’s thought as to the origin of that food, the widespread extinction of species in not a concern. However, the disappearance of many species, however esoteric they may be, causes a disturbance in the global food chain which may eventually threaten the survival of our species. As such, it is imperative that we work to prevent any species from going extinct regardless of the immediate cause of its demise.

Primarily it is hard to gauge the reason for a species’ extinction. The deforestation of Brazilian rainforests is clearly adversely harming its fragile ecosystem and the disappearance of its indigenous species can quite easily be attributed to human activity. However, many species are only able to prosper in specific environmental conditions. Polar bears for example, depend on arctic seals for nutrition. However as the average global temperature increases from year to year, arctic seals have been migrating away from their natural habitat and as such threaten the extinction of Polar bears. The cause, however, for global warming is not uncontroversial. The landmark Paris accords have signalled an international consensus that the origin of global warming is found in human activities, however the recent withdrawal of the United States from the accords has signalled scepticism on the part of the world’s largest economy that this is so. As such it appears that any attribution of the extinction of polar bears to human activity will not be without its controversy.

Nevertheless, many reasonable people may argue that despite the adverse effects which humans may have on the global ecosystem, the resultant extinction of species should not be lamented. After all, even before human activities have begun to leave their print on the environment species have disappeared and come into existence more or less continuously. Surly we should not lament lions wiping up an entire species of Zebras. While this argument contains a significant fragment of truth, it fails to account for the fact that humans have long since withdrawn themselves from what is colloquially referred to as the “food chain”. Humans no longer hunt other animals for subsistence, rather, we have domesticated agriculture. This, alongside our near totally dominance of our planet’s resources imply that we are very susceptible to even the slightest changes in the environment. Consider, for example, bees, while being mostly an annoyance to humans, their main task is to pollinate the plants that feed chicken, cows and pigs, crucial sources of food for humans. As such, the current dwindling of bee populations poses a grave threat to domesticated livestock and consequently, our continued survival on this planet. It is not, as would be were we hunter-gathers, the case that we can simply switch to hunting another animal.

Recognizing our inherent disability to measure our “environmental footprint” and the pernicious effects of many species’ extinction, we must ensure that any species that can be saved, is saved.