So long as they are aware of the dangers involved, adults should not be legally bound to use seat belts

I disagree with the author's claim that adults should'nt be legally bound to use car seat belts. Nevertheless, seat belts are much expected to be used by children who obviously do not know about the dangers of not using it. Nothwithstanding, this above statement does'nt mean that the knowlege of the dangers of seatbealts covers the essence of its use.

One compelling argument in favour of the author's claim is that adults ability to detect dangers while driving make them immune from seat belt usage. For instance, in a four-seater cars, the driver's seat and the other front seat is made in such a way that it is compulsory to use seat belts. While the back seater(s) may wish to use belts or not. That is to say the use of seat belts by adults is subjective to the particular seat one is seated on to compare to childern who are expected to use seat belt no matter where they are seated.

Another compelling argument againt the author's claim is that by answering the question; does being conversant of the dangers while driving cover one from the essence of its protection? It is obvious that Toyota, Benz and the likes knew the importance of seat belts in cars and ensured that it is made for everyone who wishes to be in a car without any exception. This ofcourse was added to reduce car accident. Therefore, with this, the probability that an individual who is wearing seat belt will sustain lesser injury in accidents is higher compared to when the individual is not wearing one.

Nothwithstanding the forgoing reasons, the use of seat belts has become discomforting and most people find it difficult to breath properly while using it. Nevertheless, this does'nt call for negligence of its use. The dangers invloved in not using seat belts is surley unknown to all. Nobody knows what will happen next while driving especially when it is related to incidence that may occur. Therefore, to say that adults are aware of the dangers encountered while driving is highly rufuted and not rational.

A second problem that the author would have stated that is the reason why adults should not be legally bound to use seat belt is the issue of availability. For instance in developing countries where affordability of necessities are unaviodably absent, individuals who have faulty seat belts will be compelled to use their automobiles without the seat belt. In such situations, it is neither their fault nor nobodys and so should'nt be held legally wanting for not using seat belts.

To sum up, it is pertinent to note that the use of seat belt is not made for a perticular age, gender or class. Everyone is spell bound and legally expected to use the seat belts because that is what it is made for. However, in the mist of difficulty of affording one, adults can be temporally allowed to use their cars without being legally accountable.