Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training to them at an early age to develop their talents

It is said that slow, but consistent progress is always better than fast but haphazard progress. The same can be said about any discipline. Starting early and consistently working towards betterment is always better than starting late and trying to rush through the stages. The prompt says that ‘society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training to them at an early age to develop their talents’. I agree with this statement to a large extent. I shall present two arguments as to why this is true and one argument showing why this may not necessarily be the case.

The benefits of starting early and the power of the ‘compounding effect’ are well proven throughout history. Warren Buffet, known as the ‘Oracle of Omaha’, is one of the most revered investors on this planet. His investment tips are followed and respected by young and auteur investors alike. In one of his books, he stated that he started investing at a tender age of ten, and accumulated his first million when he turned thirty. Had he started much later in life, him turning a millionaire at the age of thirty would have been a mere dream, and would never have been recognized by the society for his achievements.

Further, research has proved time and again that starting any discipline at an early age has a much quicker learning curve compared to starting at an older age. This is true whether it is languages, art, dance or mathematics. Hence, if the society recognizes talent at an early age, it could help many youngsters become pundits in their field and achieve what they are capable of, in turn benefitting the progress of the society.

However, a downside to recognizing talents at a younger age and providing them special training would mean differentiating them from the ‘ordinary’ kids. This could lead to discontent and the development of complexes among kids. The ‘talented’ ones could start looking down on their peers and start behaving in an entitled manner, just because they are seemingly ‘talented’ and the others are not. This sort of discrimination could be detrimental to the kids’ self-esteem and their mental image and affect their confidence levels in the long run.

To conclude, while there may be some arguments that are indeed valid as to recognizing talent early on may not be the best, the overall consequences of doing so would be positive and might benefit the society as a whole in the long run.