Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The statement above recommends that some people believe that competitiveness is more important than cooperation for leaders to succeed, while the others recommend that cooperation is the most important trait for a successful leader, especially in today’s world. In my opinion, competitiveness is an innate human characteristic and it is a basic condition for someone to become a leader, but only when it is understood as a support for positive ambitions. However, history has shown that competitive leaders often did not use it for good achievements and progress of their nations, but rather competitiveness often has resulted in tragedy. Therefore, my belief is in line with modern leadership believes that the pivotal trait of today’s leaders is to be cooperative.

The fact that it is innate is the reason why I think that it is not needed to work on the development of this feature, but on its control. There are many examples of imperatores and nations’ leaders who were highly competitive, which resulted in great tragedies for their countries and for the whole world. For example, Adolf Hitler who was a great supported of Pan-Germanism, anti-Semitism, anti-communism was so competitive that could not reason with a clear mind. This resulted in the Second World War which was a total catastrophe for Germany and for the whole world. Another example of unreasonable competitiveness is Napoleon. From here comes the scientific term ‘Napoleon complex’. He was very frustrated due to the fact that he was short. Consequently, his frustration resulted in great aggression. He was the emperor of France and conquered a great part of Europe for one decade. Finally, as his ambition was to concord the whole world, he started towards Russia where his kingdom ended. These examples show that when there is uncontrolled competitiveness without including cooperation and reaching common ground, there is also a warranty that the tragedy will happen.

On the other hand, there are examples of very cooperative leaders. Their success truly helped their countries and people. For instance, Gandhi was the leader of Indians, firstly in South Africa, and then in India. Gandhi was fighting all his life for human rights by non-violent civil disobedience. This model of protest and fight became an inspiration for the whole world. Gandhi achievement was the end of British rule in India. Following his model, Nelson Mandela, the first democratically elected president of South Africa fought against apartheid. Finally, in 1993, with the help from the previous president De Klerk, Mandela succeeded. The third example of non-violent civil disobedience was the example of Martin Luther King who fought against discrimination of African Americans in the USA. These leaders are proof that cooperation is a warranty for the world’s salvation. They are the inspiration for the majority of leaders also today.

In conclusion, there are many examples of competitiveness in the world that soon or later resulted in complete failure, literally tragedies. Hitler is responsible for 11 million victims of the II World War, among which for 6 million Jews. While on the other side, the leaders who practiced collaboration and cooperation were always successful in improving the well-being of their people.