Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

The author mentions that in order to prepare young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields the best way for the society is to imbibe in them the sense of cooperation and not competition. I agree with the authors claim. In todays fast paced world, youth is the main driving force of the society. Young people are energetic, optimistic and have the potential to be a good leader if they are guided by the society in a right way.

In todays work enviroments around the world, it is often said that cooperation is the key to success. There are many companies around the world having many leaders running the companies with their teams. If the leader is cooperative and understanding even the employees respect the leader and work passionately towards his/her leader. For example, if in a company if there is competition between team leaders about the time required for the projects to be successfully completed, then the project leaders will put pressure on the team to complete the project faster. In this case the entire team will always work in pressure and eventually make mistakes. But if the team leader understands his/her team and not put pressure on them and cooperate with them then it is obvious that the team performance will be excellent.

It is also true in the governments also, for example if a prime minister of a developing country tries to compete with the developed countries then it is possible that the it leads to problems. For example, if a country tries to bring in bullet train network even when its normal rail connectivities have multiple issues then it is obvious that many people will face issues. Rather, the goverment must cooperate with the citizen and understand their problems and solve that first rather than competing with other countries.

However, there should be a healthy competition in order to bring the best version of self. For example, there are multiple competitions and tounaments which go all around the year like olympics, world cups. In these competitions multiple contenders participate. This helps to boost confidence of an individual if he.she wins the tournaments, or the individual can assess what is going wrong if he/she loses.

To sum up, I think that cooperation is the best thing the leader should have. There should be healthy competition among the people in order to achieve something good.