Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Leadership is a necessary skill for a candidate aiming to secure a good position in government, industry, or other fields. Society is in a way responsible for the development of such skills in its young generation. As the prompt argues, the society should prepare its young people for leadership by instilling them a sense of cooperation than competition. Now, cooperation and competition are both effective ways to develop such skills. Were I to choose a side between them, I would incline slightly more towards the competition than cooperation.

Nevertheless, The harsh reality of modern market economies is their market are largely driven by competition. So, it is necessary to provide young people a sense of competition before they come to face them in actual life. While competition provides fuel to the necessity to constantly innovate and improvise, and perform each task in better way, the cooperation would bolster the spirit of sportsmaship and unity. Excessive competition leads to resurgement of selfishness among young people. So, much competition would rather do more harm than good.

The best way to impart necessary skills in the young generation would be through competition involving teams. In that way, While young people will learn cooperation among the team, they will also have the competition to fuel their desire to excel. They can learn certain aspects of leadership skills like team management while working as a team, they will also learn other aspects while competing with fellow teams.

Some total supporters of the argument may argue that the sense of competition will sow seeds of selfishness and other ignoble vices among the young generation. Though it might lead to such negative impressions, it is also necessary to learn to deal with real life situation like challenges than to work in totally idealistic environment.

To conclude, while both competition and cooperation have their advantages and disadvantages, having a mediocre mechanism involving both to prepare young people for forthcoming challenges would be a better way to instill leadership skills.