Some people argue that successful leaders in government industry or other fields must be highly competitive Other people claim that in order to be successful a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others Write a response in which you disc

The promt states that in order to be successful leaders have two options, either being competitive or being cooperative. It is important to remark that being competitive does not mean not to be cooperative or viceversa, an individual can be competitive and at the same time have a cooperative spirit.

The competitiveness of an individual can lead him to a successful outcome, but at what price? Being competitive can sometimes create a uncomfortable workplace environment, specially if the competitive person does not have a great set of morals. Nevertheless it has been proven that competitiveness can sure improve performance. Take the example of a football player, is he is the only wide receiver In the team, he would not have the inside competition within the team to be better, different that the case of a team with three players for the same position where they need that competitive spirit to be selected as a starter for the next match.

On the other hand cooperation is a great value for a leader. With cooperation a company can grow as a whole and with shared benefits. Imagine the example of two managers in a company, that devote their teams time to help each other and the company at the same time. The dividends received from that alliance could be perceived in a structural way in the whole company. Or it could be the case of two countries that have specific resources that the other does not posses, if that where the case they could potentiate the growth of both countries by signing treaties for the free trade of such resources and thus improving the development of the nations.

To sum up, both caractheristics could make a leader successful, but I consider that a balance between the two of them would be the potential best. Taking the good parts of each a leader can set himself apart from the rest and making not only himself successful but also those surrounding him.