Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field

The main purpose of education is to prepare an individual for better survival in today's competitive environment and have a prosperous life. This is where the important decisions like choosing a field of study for higher education play a crucial part. Whether to completely align one's course of study solely to his/her interests can further be evaluated based on the upcoming arguments.

Firstly, sustainability of any pursuit depends on its economic viability. Education being one of the longest and important pursuits of one's life should also cater to this basic requirement. Having the course of education solely based on interests rather than economic viability can pose as a blunder in one's life as the life needs to be sustained economically and education first and foremost is a solid caterer to that requirement.

Secondly, it has been brought forward in many erudite discussions since a long time that talents and interests don't have innate but rather a developmental nature. If one pursues a field long enough to see some tangible rewards, his or her interest grows which further feedbacks his efforts in that field and thus the talent grows.

And finally and appeasingly, even if an individual finds his interests and talents in contradiction with what the market demands, the current complex and innovative world allows amalgamations of fields to cater the necessity for innovation. An apposite example can be that of a programmer who can apply his coding skills to solve economic problems the market needs desperately to be solved or of a visual artist who can design the illustrations for different websites. Such examples of amalgamation of different interests and fields are ubiquitous in today's world.

Through the above given arguments it can be clearly showed that the college majors should be selected keeping in mind the economic viability of such majors. Further, if one pursues what he has chosen to do with diligence he can create a cycle of reward and effort which develops both his talents and interests in a field. Also, there is no dearth of opportunities to amalgamate different interests to cater the economic requirements of the society.