Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Should students choose major based on their interests and talents or the job prospect of that major? Though some people argue that job prospect should be the first thing to be considered, I disagree in that the future of job is difficult to predict. I believe that whether a student has genuine interests and talents towards a field is what really matters, because that is the engine for a more sustainable and ever-lasting development.

Admittedly, gaining more information on job availability is important because it can avoid a student spend four or more years earning a degree and then be frustrated by a job market with no demand for graduate. This process, however, only make sense if one can readily predict the future of work. With the advent of automation and other life-changing technology, the rapid change of job market makes it nearly impossible for us to predict future job prospect. Consider the career of a ticket salesman. This job is now being replaced by automatic machine in many cities. We can hardly know what expertise will be replaced by the force of automation in the future. Therefore, to assume that job availability is something out there, staying constant and waiting for a student to unearth is unrealistic. And it is even more risk to base students' choice of major on any conjecture on future workforce.

Then what should college students do to better prepare themselves for the future? How should they make any decision if the world is full of drastic changes? I believe that there is one thing that never fades away: the passion you have towards a field. Passion, stemming from genuine interest, creates great motivation for improvement thus can lead to higher productivity. Take many technology start-up company as an example. When Steve Jobs started designing computers in his small garage, he did not give any thoughts on whether this expertise will gain him a decent job easily. But he is motivated and worked very hard because he had passion towards engineering and programming. No matter what the job prospect is out there, he finally become very successful by creating his own company: Apple. This example clearly illustrate that, in the ever-changing world, do not predict the future, define the future. And passion is a necessary component for one to do so.

In addition to passion, talents are also important trace to look at when thinking about which field to study. Because even if the job availability is very limited, a person with talent can still thrive. Let us take academia as an example, the demands for tenure is very small, while a young man with talents for academic research in biology will always manage to find a university that recognize his talents and competency. As an old saying goes: if you are a gold, you will shine no matter what. It is even a misleading advice to tell for those with talents that they should consider job availability, because no industry will say no to a gifted employee.

To sum up, I do think job prospect can play a role for college student to choose their major but it is difficult to accurate predict the future thus make any decision based on it risky. But I believe that passion and talent can always lead to a successful career, because that is the engine of progressing.