Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Corporations have a responsibility to the environment in which they operate. Due to the operations of some corporations, effluents can be harmful to the inhabitants of the host community.

For example, a manufacturing company that discharges waste materials in form of smoke even if it is at an acceptable level, can serve as a pollutant into the environment on the long run. In order to promote the well-being of the society, the company may provide healthcare facilities in the community.

Another example is the problem of vandalism in the Niger Delta area of Nigeria where oil companies operate. However, the host communities feel cheated as natural resources on their land are being harnessed with the emission of waste products destroying farmland and aquatic life which is their source of livelihood without any compensation from the companies. They become hostile and seek attention by vandalizing companies' assets thus disrupting operations. Such hostilities could have been averted if the companies showed interest in the well-being of these communities by providing scholarships, employments, infrastructures to better the life of the people in the environment.

Although, one may say corporations pay tax, operate within the law and their operations are not innocuous to the environments so, their only responsibility is to make money. It will be unfair to ignore the host environment especially indigent societies where this money is made. These may breed a hostile relationship between the corporation and the host environment and eventual disruption of operations.

In conclusion, corporation have a responsibility to their host environment and enhance the well-being of the society in order to ensure smooth operations.