Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Even though the Corporation’s ultimate aim is to make as much profit as possible, a responsible corporate would give back to the society it is operating from.

A typical corporation plant pops up in a countryside, and one might point out the betterment of road connectivity that it had brought along. Also, the employment opportunities opening up as a result of opening/expansion of the Corporation. But, this is only one side of the story. Most of the times, a Corporation’s presence in the region can often be a deterrent for the local’s operations. In short, they are more of a bane than a boon. The corporations by its inherent nature washes way the local players out of the business. The corporations pollute the environment, both by legally, and illegally. First, it can leverage its corporate lobbying power in making the emission norms lax and weak. This is a legal way of getting things done according to their needs. Next, they tamper with the data that they submit to the Government’s green tribunal. Even if we were to believe that some of them, do indeed fair practices, they still have responsibility in giving back to the society that they operate. Corporate Social Responsibility, popularly called CSR, is the only way of paying back to the society in which they operate, for their deterrent presence. Interestingly, the Government of India (GoI) made it mandatory in the year 2019 for the corporates to spend 10% of its revenues for CSR.

It is important for the corporations to have a congenial relation with the locals where they operate. The plants ensure that they have a grievance redressing facility set up to hear them out. One such instance where the corporations acted against the wishes of locals. Sterlite copper smelting plant in Tuticorin, India polluted the environment, flouted the emission rules. But, the flouting could not be proved as the flouting was intermittent, for it was difficult to gather concrete evidence. The locals protested and reached the state’s people for its support. The result was that the plant was shut down immediately and slapped with a fine.

When we talk about CSR, one such company mirroring the Socialist ideologies of the nation they operate, is TATA sons. India, after its independence from the colonial British rule in 1947, found itself short of any big corporations. TATA opened up several spinning mills. The company was catering to the local cotton producers, marketing and exporting the products in large quantity. TATA is a rare instance of a Corporation that had the balanced approach when it came to profits and the society. This turned out to be the secret of their success, for TATA would go on to feature in Fortune 500 companies around the world for the last 30 years.

The biggest revelation in the 20th century is the successful development of ideas of Limited Liability Companies(LLC). This ensured that the responsibilities and profits are shared among the Corporation as a whole, as opposed to a single owner claiming all the profits. The corporations have to engage in social benefits for the society which they operate.