Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations are controversial in the news. Critics attack their profit seeking motives, while proponents say that they can still do good. I find that corporations have made great accomplishments that ultimately benefited society, but only if it benefits their bottom line in some way.

Corporations must be able to delight consumers in order to exist. While Amazon.com is on track to become the most profitable company in history, it could only accomplish this feat by providing a service that consumers needed: offering a wide variety of goods that can quickly be delivered to customers. Customers no longer needed to waste time visiting different stores to find a product they need. Now, they can check Amazon’s website to see if it’s available and have it delivered within 2 days. This convenience has made it easier for people to quickly obtain the things they need no matter where they live.

In San Francisco, tech companies have made a commitment to invest in solutions that alleviate the problems created by their monetary success. Salesforce recognized that the rapid increase in its workforce has worsened the city’s housing crisis. The CEO recently unveiled a plan to invest in affordable housing and committed billions of dollars to funding it. Salesforce’s investment will improve the quality of life in San Francisco by building affordable housing, showing that seeking profit is not Salesforce’s only motive.

Amazon and Salesforce have shown that they can do good for society, but only if it benefits their financials. Amazon offers a service that’s convenient for consumers not out of the kindness of its heart, but in order to generate profits for shareholders. Similarly, Salesforce would not have made its commitment to affordable housing unless it knew that improving the quality of life of its employees can increase their productivity.

Seeking profits and doing good appear to be mutually exclusive goals. When considered separately, the two sides of the debate tell an incomplete story. Amazon and Salesforce do seek to be profitable in order to fulfill their obligations to shareholders. However, they know that they have to satisfy society’s needs in order to sustain profits. The most successful companies can strike the right balance between these two goals.