Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Businessmen create their companies with the objective of enlarging their fortune and give status to their family name. Indubitably, the main goal of the head of every industry is to make as much money as they can and to build a highly profitable company. Nevertheless, the well being of the society that surrounds them and a healthy environment might help the industry to reach their goals. Personally, I have mixed opinions about the statement and along this essay I will present in profound detail my reasons for believing so.

First of all, it is important to highlight that every industry was created with a single purpose: to enhance the bank account of its owner. Behind every action, there is something that motivates it, and it is undeniable that money is was promotes industries and other kind of companies. If a businessman wanted to create a better world, then he would have donated his money directly to charity or he would have use it to create a nongovernmental organization with a specific cause he believes in. Instead, he has decided to build a company, and therefore, what he expects is money and social status in retribution for his work and dedication.

However, aiding the environment and society is not incompatible with earning money. In fact, one thing can directly help to the other. To illustrate this, we can mention the example of all the companies that donate money, for instance, to recover the Amazonian Forest. There is a hidden intention behind that: to advertise their company and to gain positive public image. Nonetheless, they are helping to recover natural resources and sending an encouraging message to society.

Moreover, not only can contributing to the society help to create a well-recognized public image - and therefore, their sales - but also expand their market. A business that donates to the local community, provides good salaries to their employees and buys from local producers is creating a good impact on their area and enlarging their own profits as well. By spending their money (money they would have to spend anyway) in local production and hiring nearby workers, the area surrounding the factory might suffer surprising changes and, as a result, neighbors will trust the brand. This implies that they will be loyal customers to their products and what is more, they will avoid creating social or environmental conflicts.

In conclusion, I do not believe companies have any responsibility for aiding the environment nor helping the society (considering they are not breaking the law), but I strongly maintain that by working hand by hand with local communities and getting involved in worldwide environmental problems, companies might receive high and unexpected rewards while helping to make this world a better place: it is a win-win.