Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Corporations are a vital part of society. An active participation of society is must for the mere survival of a corporation. Some believe that corporations have a duty to promote welfare of society and environment whereas others believe that the only function of the corporations is to make profit. In general I agree with the former view that corporations should be involved in the welfare of society and protect the environment.

Experience tells us pollution, poor wages and damaged cities have occurred due to the companies. So it is the responsibility of the companies to fix them. In a way it protects company’s future prospects. It encourages companies to produce products that are less perilous to the environment. Therefore more resources will be available to the company in future. Furthermore, if the companies are not proactive in the matters of corporate social responsibility, the government might be forced to intervene and police these companies.

Admittedly being involved in the social welfare serves beneficial to the company itself. It earns a good name for a company, a greater acceptability of their products. Thus it helps a company to become successful. The ice cream manufactures Ben and Jerry have been involved in such ventures and they donate 7.5% of their pretax earnings to various charitable organizations.

On the flip side, others believe that only nonprofit organization should be involved in the social welfare. This is substantiated by the facts that companies do not have the knowledge to help society effectively. Furthermore it is an added expense. Lesser profits could hurt the expansion and the company could lose to its competitors.

In summation, corporations should be involved in the welfare of society and protect the environment simply because it is the right thing to do. Doing so would mutually benefit the organization as well as the society.