Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations do have responsibility towards the well-being of society and environment in which they operate. Promoting actions that result otherwise will only effect the profits of the industry directly or indirectly. It is true that law is there to supervise the actions of industries, but it is not possible even for the law to always keep an eye on all actions of these corporate. On the other hand, not making profits will result in demise of any industry, but ethics matter the same. Most businessmen circumvent their ethics to increase their profit margins. Even under circumstances when it is possible to gain profits without side lining ethics, these corporate tend to choose the ways that would only enhance their profits without caring much about society or nature. These corporate have huge impact on environment and society.

To begin with, if employers force their employees to work overtime and expects them to take lesser leaves only in order to maximize profits, they are destroying the lives of their work-force. Such things have bad impact on day to day lives of these people. They would gradually start under-performing, they will tend to be angry and belligerent. This will destroy their social life inside and outside the industry. Take for an example, the labor industries, they have a habit exploiting the workers and that is the only not much daily wagers are happy with their work life.

Secondly, not caring about the nature, surrounding the area where these industries operate, makes a big impact on natural resources of the locality. If these firms do not promote recycling, or limit the use of resources, they will soon run out of them. For an instance, if any industry do not guide its employee to use electrical equipment only when needed and switch them off otherwise, will end up consuming power that would have been sufficient to light up many houses in the nearby area. If these industries start promoting the conservation of nature, they may inspire their employees to follow the same everywhere including their homes. This might indirectly benefit the industries, as they might never run out of local natural resources which would decrease their expenses of imports. Take of an example, Facebook, it has now setup up cooling systems that use natural air and do not pollute the surroundings with Choloro-Floro Carbons which are typically used in air conditioning. The step take by Facebook is exemplary for whole world and several business giants are now following Facebook's foot steps.

Moreover, if any industry promote discrimination based on any grounds, they are set to destroy their work culture. It is vital to treat all employees with equal importance irrespective of their race, gender or age. The side effects of promoting such culture can beget discrimination in society outside the industry premises. People might get used to disrespect others for mere reasons of their race or gender. For instance, several military forces are now-a-days enrolling female candidates to serve their country.

However, one can argue that it is not always possible for all firms to take into account their impact on the nature and society in their proximity, just because they are only capable of merely surviving in this competitive environment. But we should keep in mind that what actions we take today are gonna shape the future for our generations tomorrow. How better their world is totally depends on the decisions we take today.

Conclusively, it is of higher priority that every firm introspects its ethics and their impact on society and environment. These two are mutually dependent and none can survive without the other.