Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as

Though many consider corporations shall only focus on making maximum profits as long as they obey the restriction of laws, I hold a different position that corporations are responsible to improve environments as well as societies by the following arguments.

To begin with, it is true that the first priority of companies is to generate maximum profits in a sense of capitalism, but we shall aware the fact that no corporation is isolated from societies and Earth. Hence, the operation of corporations shall not neglect those potential negative effects on the planet and the public even they are not mentioned by laws. A clear example is the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Accident. Prior to the risk of radiation leakage, concerns of the cost from shutting down the power plant made the Tokyo Electricity Company decide to continue the operation of the facilities rather than abandon the reactors, eventually leading to a disaster. If the company had considered their responsibilities, such an incident might be avoided.

Through the case of the Fukushima Nuclear Power Plant Accident, we can realize that what is held by believers of capitalism, the invisible hand which modulates the utilities of the system to achieve a maximum of happiness, is not true under all circumstances. So, it is problematic for corporations (even if under the restrictions of laws) to only focus on profit maximization. They should also consider the rest of human beings.

Besides minimizing those negative effects, corporations should also make positive contributions to the world. Because all human beings live on Earth and involve in societies, sustainable environments and sound societies are the foundation for mankind to achieve happiness. As part of humans, corporations are thus with the duties of making a better future for mankind. It is especially true for those large companies having tremendous influences on a global scale, such as Google or Amazon, since their own policies may affect the globe in either good or bad ways. Thus, companies shall consider the benefits of mankind rather than only their own profits.

Another reason of the claim, that corporations must ensure the well-being of societies and environment, is that by making societies/environments better off, companies may establish a higher reputation and ensure the sustainability of natural resources. For example, by providing scholarships to children in the neighborhood, corporations could improve their corporate images. Another good example is using clean energy to minimize negative effects on environments to ensure sustainable environments.

In conclusion, with all the arguments listed above, it is safe for us to state that corporations shall take the responsibilities to promote environments and societies.