"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make a

The aforementioned stance is indeed a question of dilemma- just like a double-sided coin. However, i am in complete accordance with the given stance. Along with the fundamental aim of self-progress i do believe that a corporation also has a moral obligation of societal well-being. The reason for supporting the given stance will be mentioned in the following passages.

To begin with, the sole purpose for the establishment of any corporation is to be a financial success. Nevertheless, now-a-days, business industries have understood the mutual gains obtained through supporting the causes of societal development and environmental protection. Thus, the concept of corporate social responsibility has come into existence. By caring about the societal needs a corporation is benefited simultaneously. A myriad of illustrations concerning this concept can be provided. The renowned shoe-making company BATA hired various regional people from the lower classes for the purpose of supervising and sales. Consequentially, both the parties were profited - on one hand, the shoe industry had to appoint employees at a relatively cheaper prices, while, on the other hand, the rate of employment of the region improved dramatically.

Likewise, one of the top 10 industries in the world, Reliance conducts various social activities in rural as well as urban areas to support the underdeveloped regions. Some of the activities are- providing food and adequate clothing, donations to orphanages. Such activities help in the upliftment of such regions and simultaneously bring more fame to the company's name.

Another trite example which can be put forth is of the tea making company. When the jute industry was on the verge of getting closed due to excessive reduction in the cloth's purchases, it was Darjeeling tea (industry) which came to it's rescue. Along with it's paper packaging, the company also started tea packing in jute.

Moreover, it cannot be totally possible for any industry to focus more on social and environmental responsibilities while neglecting it's financial responsibilities. However, these two motives can definitely go hand in hand. Thus, any industry which is financially secure can aptly bolster it's society by carrying environment friendly activities.

To sum up, along with the basic purpose of making money, any corporation, if financially sound should be responsible for the promotion of societal and environmental well being.