Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

The topic at hand suggests the beliefs of people on the functions of corporations in the society. Certain factions think that the corporations should have responsibilty towards society and environment while others believe that if the corporations are working within the laws, they are supposed to look after their financial interests only. While There is no clear answer to the issue at hand, both the claims have pro's and con's.

Firstly the corporations are formed so that the people who are associated with it earn money. Hence the claim that: provided the corporations operate within the tenets, they have fiduciary duty towards the people associated with them, to help them earn profit and thus make as much money as possible. But it is also possible that the corporation while earning money, can promote the well-being of the people in need.

Furthermore there is also a moral obligation towards making the environment and the society in which you live more habitable and problem-free. The employees working in the corporations are an important part of these corporations; these employees are also a part of the society, and may appreciate if their living standards are improved.

Moreover, nowadays it is seen that the consumers tend to deal with corporations that are more humane. Acoording to this it may even be beneficial financially for the corporations to take part in social and environment issues and help solving some issues.

In conclusion it is important that the corporations after completing their primary role of making money, contribute towards the well-being of the people in the world and the environment as a whole. In doing so they will also be able to form a positive image of themselves in the eyes of their consumers.