I generally believe that both government funding and non government fundings are important for the thrive of arts but since arts should not regarded as a threat to the value of arts government fundings are a must. It is necessary to ensure that arts can flourish and be available to all people.

Arts has its own importance. The rich heritage, the culture of a country is all a part of the art which needs to be preserved. Suppose the Taj Mahal which is one of the seven wonders of the world was built by an emperor but to maintain its beauty is a tedious task. To maintain this beauty government funding plays a very important role.It is for the people and by the people but not everyone has all resources to fund themselves.

If there is funding from the government exhibitions can be held , museums can be set which will be a win-win situation for everyone. Also a nations culture will be able to highlight. For eg- Certain metro cities in India have a setup of markets funded by the government which is highly benificial to the common people and it has seen the rise of many good artists. There are many artists who depend on government funding for their survival as well as for showcasing thier talent.

If I say the Eiffel tower, would its beauty be the same if the government doesnt maintain it? No! If say some person decides to fund on its maintainence how long will he be able to do it? The government knows its people, the kind of maintainence that an art would require; so it is the best that government takes care of the funding. Art improves inviduals, some can make a good wellbeing out of it and it also strengthens the bonds between the people of a nation.

Art in itself is very wide. Art can be paintings, music, monuments, dance anything. So, at the end I would like to say that government funding of arts is necesaary not only to preserve its culture but also because sometimes people are very talented but they do not have the money to fund themselves and exhibit their talent.